Film: Vivid (2017)

In our Art and Design in Film module, we only had three assignments:

a presentation about our idea, with a storyboard,

Storyboard

a photo sequence to research our locations,

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

I went during the day despite knowing that I would film the final film at night. I didn’t want to be exploring places I wasn’t familiar with, alone, in the dark; my film says that’s dangerous. I took photos of the names of each of the lanes as I went in, and any images that stood out to me that I wanted to include. The one of the missing girl had disappeared by the time we returned to film.

and the final film.

After dark, I returned to the laneways of Melbourne to direct my gracious actress, Fiona Jones. I edited the storyboard to show every shot I wanted to achieve, which I then used for reference. I also created a map of where each location was found and the route we would take, and an excel document of all of the graffiti I found and wanted to include, which shots they would be used for, and where they were. So that we could all of the shots in each location at a time. I borrowed the equipment (Canon 70D, microphone, light, tripod), and took a couple of late nights; we had a lot of fun.

Leave a comment